Skip to content

a whimsical, romantic dress done right

October 25, 2009

UPDATE: This dress is currently on sale for $99.99, just click on the link below for more info.

Crinkle Cascade Dress by J. Crew

Oh how I’ve dreamed  of discovering an ethereal dress like this one at a thrift store or happening upon it at least somewhere actually affordable. I have to admit J. Crew is just too expensive for me. Broke college students, like myself, cannot purchase such a dress…and it’s so unfair.

(Okay: finished wallowing over my temporarily broke status.)

In discovering it, I immediately envisioned myself wearing this (if I lived in such a place) roaming over a prairie landscape meeting clear blue skies.

Prairie

image courtesy of wikipedia

Wouldn’t that be amazing? Maybe not the most practical thing to wear, but who cares…it’s a day dream.  I would pair it with rugged brown boots a la Keira Knightley’s  photo shoot for Vogue, where it seems she’s wearing a similarly whimsical dress (left) with a pair of exquisite Frye boots. I would go a little taller with the boots though. I have to say there’s something so awe-inspiring and other worldly about the undulating meadows of the American west. It’s where my thoughts go when I day dream. So beautiful.

What do you think about J. Crew’s dress?

Keira Knightley for Vogue

Image courtesy of style.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 3:03 pm

    I love it! Such a beautiful piece. Whimsical and romantic couldn’t be a more perfect description. Thank you for your comment on my blog- I am so impressed with yours :) I hope there are great things in both of our futures and I look forward to keeping up with you! xo

  2. February 15, 2010 11:53 pm

    Very feminine. Like! <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

