Skip to content

fashion staples

October 2, 2009

I mentioned before that when you don’t have time to think about what you’re going to wear, you should be able to find comfort in having the basics in your closet so you can put something together when you’re in a hurry. I.e. while your taking a five minute shower because you hit snooze six times too many and by now, for all intents and purposes ,you’ve missed the train to work…

I put together some items I found off of a very amazing site and came up with some examples of pieces that could potentially be helpful to anyone not sure what to consider staples. It definitely reflects my personal taste, but the idea is these are pretty standard things that just need a little tweak here or there to fit to your needs or wants. I.e. if you hate navy blue, go with another neutral you prefer. I’m going to include some of the slides of how I put these pieces together so that they “go”–I say this because I don’t like to technically “match” my clothes according to color or what have you…colors are so fun why limit yourself? I’ll turn all these slides I created, that ended with these essential pieces, into a slide show to share with you, so it’s not an overwhelming amount of images…

Looking for each piece I definitely drew upon some classic ideas I had in mind: bomber jackets and rugged boots appeal to that ‘tough’ and carefree side of me. Oxford heels and worn leather bags to that academic look I love. High-waisted skirts and Mary Jane pumps to that conservative bit…and the list goes on. I think it’s important to like what you wear, but also have some meaning behind it, so that’s what I do.

UPDATE: And here is the slide show. In it you’ll get to see some of the celebrities whose style I find visually and intellectually stimulating…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

