Skip to content

my favorites down the red carpet

March 11, 2010

Yes, I am talking about the Oscars that apparently got  41.3 M viewers, including myself, when it aired Sunday night. I made sure to catch the beginning: when the stars and/or nominees walk the red carpet because of course I love to see what they’re wearing! Sorry, but I pretty much only have eyes for the gowns–guys just don’t get to make as much of a spectacle as the ladies do…it’s a shame, but it seems when they try they end up looking a little wacky like Robert Downey Jr. did……but it’s okay: personally, I don’t mind it.

On to the gorgeous gowns…

Vera Farmiga wearing Marchesa

My favorite has to be Vera Farmiga in that  ‘scarlet’ Marchesa gown with ‘cascading, pleating ruffles’. (I think it was on E! that it was described so eloquently.) It was absolutely the most enchanting dress I’d ever seen down a red carpet. I loved the drama it held and the silhouette it created. I just LOVED it. Adored it. The whole look: her hair, make up, darling jewelry, and especially that  color (which I did highlight, yes, but had to mention just one more time). It was the ruffles that did me in though–I am a sucker for anything ruffled!! Also of course the pleating was perfection: such a modern take on such a common and often underrated style.Okay, okay. I’m moving on to the other dresses that had big tulle to fill. (My attempt at a joke.)

Sandra Bullock wearing Marchesa

The sweetest win had to be Sandra Bullock’s for best actress. I have to admit I haven’t seen “The Blind Side” yet, but I intend to. I want to see her performance in this movie and I am always up for movies that are based on true stories. Unfortunately, I am usually more interested in those with sad endings–I am so sick and twisted…I know.  Now about this gown: it’s also a Marchesa gown and it’s stunning. Again, the whole look did it for me. The simple make up with the gorgeous pop of color on her lips (the shade of which I loved and wish I could pull off–I am always so aware of how not-white my teeth are though when I wear my red lipstick .) Also her bag complemented her dress so well, as did her understated jewelry. So beautiful…!

Anna Kendrick wearing Elie Saab

Anna Kendrick definitely surprised me. I don’t think much of her role in “Twilight”, but in her defense there’s not much she can do about that. I am dying to see “Up in the Air” and am so glad to know she has such a great sense of style. I thought it was funny that she never expected she would wear pink to the award show–I’m not  a fan of pink either, but this dress truly is the exception. Actually her and Demi Moore (which I talk-up later).  I love ruffles, but second to them is surely draping. My favorite part of this Elie Saab dress is the off the shoulder bit. Not only is it Grecian inspired but it also had a lace trimmed thigh-high slit, with just enough skin showing without going over the top. This pale pink color is gorgeous on her with the dark hair and again subtle make up. The romantic look is taking over and I am loving it!! Yay!

Rachel McAdams wearing Elie Saab

Awe yes…Rachel McAdams in another exquisite dress by Elie Saab. The moment I saw her in this gown–my mouth dropped. I love her sense of style, but she took it to a whole new level here. This is the most beautiful she’s ever looked, in my opinion. This number fit so perfectly. Both her body type but even more so I felt like her personality was exemplified in this dress: if I only really knew what she was like, but you get the idea. It was just so right for her. The sweet heart neckline is such a romantic one–not to mention the hues of pink, blue, and green. I loved her for wearing a print to the Oscars which is hardly ever the case: bold move, well done. Also, I want to say that I am not much of a jewelry person so I appreciated her choice to be to so minimal. Loved it. I hope she just keeps impressing me…so excited for her what she’ll wear to the next award show.

I don’t want this post to get too long so those are my favorites…

but I want to mention the other dresses that definitely caught my eye, thus made quite an impression on me:

Demi Moore wearing Atelier Versace

Demi Moore’s dress was just down my alley. Again with a blush colored pink and hair (and make up) that complemented it very well. She looked wonderful.

Maggie Gyllenhaal wearing Dries Van Noten

Maggie Gyllenhaal also chose a print and my was it lovely. The print wasn’t overwhelming at all or whatever it is people are saying (well okay…I guess we’re all entitled to our opinions). I thought she pulled it off well and it suite her figure nicely. I just adored her earrings, bracelet, and pink lipstick. I’m glad she brought her unconventional sense of style to the Oscars. And just like Rachel, I am hoping to see even more of that in the future.

Elizabet Banks wearing Versace

Elizabeth Banks looked so charming in this Versace gown complete with contrasting fitted bodice and ruffled train. I thought she looked stunning. This color looked especially alluring on her. I love gray. If I had to pick a favorite color it would be all shades of gray. Adore it. So…I also thought the headpiece she wore was incredibly becoming.

Natalie Portman Oscars 2005

I think it rivals Natalie Portman’s diamond headpiece (from the 2005 Oscars), but I still prefer Natalie’s. Wanted to add that I love Elizabeth Banks even more for hosting the Sci-Tech Oscars.

Kate Winslet wearing Yves Saint Laurent

Kate Winslet never fails to impress me. She really went old Hollywood with a twist this time. Classic yet unconventional, leaving me in awe of her. Oh I almost forgot: the dress is by Yves Saint Laurent.

Cameron Diaz wearing Oscar De La Renta

Cameron Diaz wore Oscar De La Renta–pulling off the gold, embellished dress very well. I normally don’t care for her style choices, but she definitely upped it a few notches and deserves credit for such a smart move. Don’t like the hoop earrings, but that’s just me.

Carey Mulligan wearing Prada

Likewise, Carey Mulligan did a little embellishment on this black also strapless Prada gown. I usually don’t look too closely at the heels worn at these award shows and when I do I am often disappointed (except for Natalie Portman and Rachel Bilson–they always have the perfect pair on) but this time Carey’s choice in footwear was just gorgeous.

Nicole Richie wearing Reem Acra

Nicole Richie wore a sequined gown by Reem Acra that was certainly inspired by the 70’s and I loved it. That is:  the sleeves,  the color, as well as the low back. She really enjoys fashion and isn’t afraid to wear something completely unexpected. Looooved this one.

Kristen Stewart wearing Monique Lhuillier

She’s so perfectly awkward. Still, Kirsten Stewart wore a really beautiful gown by Monique Lhuillier. I actually like what Kristen wears most of the time, but this dress really did it for a lot of people, including me. I appreciate that she kept with her usual carefree-ness about herself by keeping her hair messy and hardly any jewelry at all. Right on!

Miley Cyrus wearing Jenny Packcham

I have to admit it: I liked what Miley Cyrus wore to the Oscars. Joan Rivers hit on the one thing I would change about it: it’s a little too tight on the top. Other than that, it’s really very pretty. It complements her age as well, which is nice. I guess I shouldn’t be so surprised..because come to think of it I really loved that red Valentino dress (and the earrings!) she wore to the Oscars in 2008.

Miley Cyrus wearing Valentino

I hope I didn’t skip anyone, but I’m going to wrap this up now. I think I went on for much longer than I should have, but there it is, my favorites down the red carpet.

Photos, unless otherwise noted, came from this blog site.

No comments yet

Leave a comment