Skip to content

it’s been a long road

March 29, 2010

The Amanda Shoe in tan, American Apparel

Enamored is the word most fitting to describe how I feel right now. The idealist in me has never felt so compensated for. If that makes any sense. What I’m trying to say is I have thought up an array of different things including a pair of oxford flats and never have I actually found just what I wanted before. Until today when the right oxford interpretation here by Tic-Tac-Toe sold at American Apparel happened its way upon me. I’ve been searching and waiting for the perfect pair for soo long.

Oxford Style Slide 10

The detailing here of perforated cut-outs really sealed the deal for me. Reminded me of the sweet and charming appeal in the Victoria’s Secret (if I remember correctly) eyelet peep-toe bootie from the image above (part of a slideshow found in this post here). Not to mention that über feminine almond shaped toe that helps a petite girl like me elongate her look.

It’s funny: I don’t really like to buy the same item in different colors–it’s a pet peeve of mine, but this would be the exception (if I was only willing to buy them both.) They’re just as perfect in tan as they are in cream. But each would obviously have the ability to create very distinct looks.

I can’t help but think of the many occasions I could wear these oh-so-believably comfortable oxford flats. On beautiful sunny days when the skies are clear and an ongoing breeze is whipping my hair around ever so slightly. I could be on a picnic or riding a bike. Or moseying  around the neighborhood. Or helping my sister plant some flowers (and by helping I mean handing her a tool here and there and mostly serving as a conversationalist). With a smile from ear to ear I want to say thank you American Apparel you have made my year pretty much.

(Okay, so I’m prone to hyperbole….but you knew that already.)

So I’m so excited about my beautiful birthday gifts…which also includes three pairs of shoes: gray suede flats; black leather, equestrian boots; and indigo suede heels. And a pinstripe shirt dress, a sheer cotton eyelet top, and a fun floral print top with an exposed zipper in the back. Loving my gifts.

The Amanda Shoe in cream, American Apparel

No comments yet

Leave a comment